CALL NOW AND GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION 888-5050-LAW

Sexual Offenses

Sexual Offenses
South Florida Sex Crime Attorneys

Sexual offenses are aggressively prosecuted in Florida, with many of the offenses resulting in the defendant being sentenced to multiple years behind bars. Sexual crimes are taken so seriously in Florida that, in some cases, offenders have been sentenced to life in prison after being convicted.

With so much at stake, it is vital you obtain the services of a criminal defense lawyer in Palm Beach who has the knowledge, resources, and fortitude to work around the clock in order to protection your reputation and freedom.

Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer in Delray Beach
If you have been arrested for allegedly committing a sex crime in Palm Beach County, Broward County or Miami-Dade County, it is essential you contact a sex crimes defense lawyer as soon as possible. The defense lawyers at McLaughlin Morris, P.A. in Delray Beach are highly qualified and have amassed countless amounts of trial experience over the years.

We represent clients in Miami, West Palm Beach, Delray Beach, and the surrounding areas, and we are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Contact Drew McLaughlin and Jeff Morris today at (561) 404-0529 to schedule a free consultation.

Overview on Sexual Offenses in Florida
Sexual Offenses Defined by Florida Law
Penalties for Sex Crimes in Palm Beach
Sex Offender Registration
Resources for Sex Offenses in Florida
Working with the Best Sex Crimes Defense Lawyers in Palm Beach

Back to Top

Sexual Offenses Defined by Florida Law
How each sexual offense is categorized depends on the details surrounding the incident. Below is a list of commonly committed sex crimes in Palm Beach:

Sexual Battery (Fla. Stat. § 794.011): This offense, which is commonly referred to as a rape, involves the penetration of the sexual organs (oral, anal, or vaginal) of a person without his or her consent. Sexual battery is usually charged as a first degree or life felony.

Statutory Rape (Fla. Stat. § 794.06): An individual can be charged with this offense if they are at least 24 years old, and they participate in sexual activity, or penetrate any sexual organ of a minor who is 16 or 17 years old. Illegal sexual activity with a minor is a second degree felony.

Indecent Exposure (Fla. Stat. § 800.03): An offender can be charged with a first degree misdemeanor if they expose their sexual organs in public.

Lewd and Lascivious Conduct (Fla. Stat. § 800.02): It is against the law for an individual to engage in indecent/sexually charged behavior in public. This offense is considered a second degree misdemeanor.

Back to Top

Penalties for Sex Crimes in Palm Beach
There are several factors that can influence the penalties an individual can face, if convicted of a sex crime. Some of these factors include the age of the victim, whether or not the victim suffered substantial injuries, and the offender’s criminal history. The penalties, according to §§ 775.082 and 775.083 of the Florida Statutes, are defined below:

A conviction for a second degree misdemeanor carries a potential jail sentence of up to 60 days, and/or a fine of up to $500.
If convicted of a first degree misdemeanor, the defendant can face up to a year behind bars, and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
A third degree felony is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of five years, and/or a fine that cannot exceed $5,000.
Individuals who are convicted of second degree felonies can face up to 15 years behind bars, and/or a fine of up to $10,000
If an the defendant is convicted of a first degree felony, he or she can be forced to serve up to 30 years in prison, and/or be ordered to pay up to $10,000 in fines.
A life felony carries a prison sentence of between thirty years to life in prison, and/or a fine of up to $15,000.
Consulting with a knowledgeable sex crimes defense attorney, who is well-versed in Florida laws regarding sexual offenses, could be beneficial in many ways. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your alleged offense, the South Florida defense attorneys at McLaughlin Morris, P.A. may be able to find mitigating factors that could reduce the potential penalties you could be facing.

Back to Top

Sex Offender Registration
Aside from the penalties mentioned above, if an individual is convicted of a sexual offense, he or she will usually be required to register as a sex offender in the county in which he or she resides. At the time of registration, the sex offender will have to provide the following information:

Full Name
Address
A photograph
Details of the sexual offense he or she was convicted of
Any other appropriate information
If an individual fails to register as a sex offender, or does not notify law enforcement when he or she changes addresses, he or she can face criminal charges.

Back to Top

Resources for Sex Offenses in Florida
Chapter 794 of the Florida Statutes: This chapter of the Florida Statutes provides detailed information, such as definitions of terms such as sexual organs, penetration, and sexual activity. It also defines various sexual crimes and gives the punishments for each.

Palm Beach Police Departments: Law enforcement in Palm Beach not only seeks to enforce laws, they also aim to prevent crime, and reduce the overall all criminal incidences in Palm Beach. The police department can be located at:

345 S County Road
Palm Beach, FL 33480
Phone: (561) 838-5454
Sex Offender Registration in Florida: This link provides information on what convicted sex offenders are required to do. It gives timeframes in which sex offender registration must be complete, what information the offender will need to provide, and other useful information.

Back to Top

Working with the Best Sex Crimes Defense Lawyers in Palm Beach
With prosecutorial experience, the trial attorneys at McLaughlin Morris, P.A. have the knowledge and skill necessary to provide you with quality legal representation. Drew McLaughlin and Jeff Morris are dedicated sex crimes defense attorneys in Delray Beach, who will aggressively defend your case.

We represent clients living in and around Broward County, Miami-Dade County, and Palm Beach County. Call us today at (561) 404-0529, 24 hours a day / 7 days a week, to schedule your free initial consultation.

FREE CONSULTATION